Link to National IDA Join IDA


2014 Annual Conference

The Next Generation of Reading Science: Proven and Developing Trends in Literacy

Pennsylvania Branch of the IDA
Co-Sponsors: Delaware Valley Friends School, Learning Ally

Date: Friday, October 10, 2014
Time: 8:00 am - 3:15 pm
LOCATION:The Delaware Valley Friends School, 19 East Central Avenue, Paoli, PA 19301 (610-640-4150; www.dvfs.org)

The Janet L. Hoopes Award

The Janet L. Hoopes Award

This prestigious award was established in 1993 in honor of the late Dr. Janet L. Hoopes, professor emeritus of Education and Child Development at Bryn Mawr College and former Director of the Child Study Institute at Bryn Mawr College. She was a former Board Member of the PBIDA, a former board president of the Children’s Aid Society of Pennsylvania, and former Chair of the Board of the Hill Top Preparatory School in Rosemont.

The Hoopes Award is given to an individual or individuals from Pennsylvania or Delaware who have made a significant contribution to the advancement of the education of those with learning differences.

Our past recipients are:

1993 Janet L. Hoopes
1994 Virginia Biasotto
1995 Joan Frank
1996 Barbara Lorry
1997 Thomas Atkins
1998 Katherine Gordon-Clark
1999 Dorothy Flanagan and Sandra Howze
2000 Jean Bay
2001 Elissa L. And Rev. James H. Fisher
2002 J. Barton Harrison
2003 Elizabeth P. Simon
2004 National IDA Conference in Phila. (no award given)
2005 Adele Gerber
2006 Charna O. Axelrod
2007 Sharon Tomalin
2008 Fran James-Warkomski
2009 Reading for the Blind and Dyslexic (RFB&D)
2010 Kathleen Hunt
2011 George Rowe
2012  Irene McHenry, Ph.D.
2013  Eugenie Walsh Flaherty, Ph.D.


back to top


Home | About Dyslexia | Resources | Calendar
IDA Conferences | Focus Newsletter | Regional Groups | Contact Us

© 2005 PBIDA All Rights Reserved.